After one hell of a night Tuesday, I was up bright and early for family day..

There was a morning PT session that I had planned on attending, but with my MIL and two children things didn’t work out.  Plus I was exhausted from the night before.  We were told we wouldn’t get to interact with the guys anyways, so I slept in an extra 40 minutes before getting everyone dressed for the big event.

Watching my husband stand so tall and proud in formation was awesome!  I saw him stick his arm out (later found out he was making the half-heart signal!) so I knew he saw me!  It was so exciting.  I met up with Amber, Sara, Katie, and Danielle briefly.  There was so much anxiety and tension waiting for everything to start!  I wasn’t able to snag a small platoon shirt quick enough though.. blah!  I got a white Panther’s (2-47 BN) shirt instead, 2 Bravo pint glasses (one broke later), 2 Panthers HUGE coffee mugs, and a Bravo coin.  I also picked up the buttons I ordered.. they turned out great!  Such a handsome soldier, and even smiling!

Once the commander talked a little and three soldiers were awarded based on exceptional performance, some Drill and Ceremony exercises were performed, the army song was “sang”, and the guys changed their ACH’s to Berets.  Then… the married guys were told to fall out while the rest of them got to meet their families!  I about had a heart attack.  I saw Amber take off toward where they had sent our men and followed.  DS Coder informed me to meet them at the chapel where the mandatory spouses panel would be held, so I started to head that way and saw Amber and Rick reunited   All I could say is WHERE IS MY HUSBAND!  Rick told me he went looking for me and a scrambled back toward the bleachers, heart in my throat.

I later was told that when he arrived at the spot we had been sitting and didn’t see me his face fell.. all he could ask was where was I?  He gave his mom a quick hug and took off.  I was running around frantically searching for him and all of a sudden he appeared and scooped me up!  It wasn’t quite what we had planned, but damn that was the best hug I have ever received.  The emotion is indescribable   I was so proud, excited, happy, sad, overwhelmed.. tears flowed and I was laughing I was so happy to see his handsome face after all those weeks.  (I’m actually teary just thinking about it now, lol).  True to my word, I didn’t let him go the rest of the day.

We marched over to the chapel where the panel was held and took each other in while they went over some important information about army life.  I was having a hard time concentrating 🙂

We hooked back up with the family, and Charlie got to hold his kids for the first time in 10 weeks.  The look of pride on his face was amazing!  I wasn’t sure how they would react, especially Nathan because he is so young, but there is no doubt that both of the kids were ecstatic to see him and missed him tons.

Lunch at Longhorns was nice, and afterwards we got to spend a few hours of just Husband and wife time.  Nothing had changed, except we were both in a little bit better of shape.  It was amazing, just being with him and taking in all the little things I had missed.

We got to hit up the Mall (main PX) that evening and do a little shopping before sending him back to the barracks.  That was a hard goodbye!  After a long hug (DS reprimanded us on the length of it, haha) I made it back to the car and we took off to the hotel with a short stop for coffee and a beer for me.  Everyone was wiped and bedtime came early.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

884332_3006234211311_1230164938_o

895065_2997130743730_1392432478_o

895318_2997950244217_239225042_o (1)

896369_2997082742530_2072902211_o

899825_2996875417347_959930738_o

900814_2997103543050_920407328_o

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

